District Calendar Contact Infinite Campus Webmail Employment
Special Education/Student Services

John Porter
  
We
 are committed to provide quality services to students with

extraordinary challenges thus affording at risk students full access to a

rigorous education and a rich social experience, whether these barriers

are caused by health, disability, academic or behavioral difficulties.


 
Palmdale School District provides a full range of services to “at risk” and “special needs” students. The SESS Division provides direct services and support at every school site. Some students requiring more intensive support, may need to attend a campus outside their neighborhood.

SESS provides services and programs through preschool, special education, and alternative education. We support and serve students and families through a wide range of educational professionals, including: highly qualified teachers, nurses, program specialists, counselors, psychologists, speech and language pathologists, occupational therapists, para educators, principals, and other management and clerical support staff.

The mission of SESS is to give students and families the support and services to help them reach maximum potential. This includes early identification of needs and early intervention (Response To Intervention – RTI) – fostering positive school attendance and connectiveness to school, concern for physical, social and emotional growth, access to community agencies, cultural tolerance and understanding and parent involvement.

 

Contact Information

661-456-1457
39139-49 10th Street East
Palmdale, CA 93550 
 
 

Administration

Name Title Email Address
John Porter, Ed.D. Assistant Superintendent jcporter@palmdalesd.org
Renee Wilson Executive Assistant crwilson@palmdalesd.org

Special Education

Name Title Email Address
Julie Elliott-Braswell Director of Special Education jaelliott@palmdalesd.org
Rosa Armstrong Administrative Secretary rmarmstrong@palmdalesd.org
John Corugedo Program Specialist - Mild/Moderate jccoregedo@palmdalesd.org
Ruthanne Phillips Program Specialist - Disabilities/Medically Fragile rphillips@palmdalesd.org
Aaron Yoscovitz Program Specialist - Mental Health/Foster Ed/Homeless Liaison ayoscovitz@palmdalesd.org
Jamie Ross Program Specialist - Audiologist/DHH jmross@palmdalesd.org
Emily Moran Program Specialist - Mild Moderate egmoran@palmdalesd.org

Student Services

Name Title Email Address
Mike Perkins Director of Student Services mwperkins@palmdalesd.org
Joyce Swift Student Services Information Supervisor-Welcome Center jaswift@palmdalesd.org
Lisa Reasoner Administrative Secretary lareasoner@palmdalesd.org

Health Services

Name Title Email Address
Julie Ferebee Director of Health Services jlferebee@palmdalesd.org
Amanda Alvarado Administrative Secretary ajalvarado@palmdalesd.org

Yellen Learning Center

Name Title Email Address
Colleen Sawyer Principal cesawyer@palmdalesd.org
Lynn Williams School Secretary ldwilliams@palmdalesd.org

Palmdale Discovery Center - Early Childhood Special Education

Name Title Email Address
Irene Orloff Program Specialist II / Admistrator inorloff@palmdalesd.org
Lucy Vincent School Secretary lavincent@palmdalesd.org

Oak Tree Community Day School

Name Title Email Address
Tim Howell Principal / Administrator tfhowell@palmdalesd.org
Kim Bowen School Secretary ksbowen@palmdalesd.org

Palmdale Independent Achievement Center (*formerly Long Term Independent Study)

Name Title Email Address
Annette Heins Teacher amheins@palmdalesd.org
Laura Mitobe Teacher lamitobe@palmdalesd.org
Last Modified Yesterday at 4:31 PM