• English Language Learner Programs

    MISSION of the English Learner Program:

    It is the mission of the English Learner Department to ensure high, rigorous standards for English learners and to encourage authentic parent involvement in their child’s education and their school’s governance.

     

    The English Learner Department is part of the Palmdale School District Educational Services Division.  Our department addresses and monitors the programs and services for English Learners (EL). English Learners are students whose first language is a language other than English and who are not fluent in English upon entering a school in California. Federal and State law mandate programs and services for English language learners.

     

    OBJECTIVES:

    • Increase awareness of the role of language and culture in learning.
    • Promote research-based, best practices and instructional strategies for use with English learners.
    • Encourage authentic parent involvement in their child’s education.
    • Provide and promote professional development opportunities.
    • Develop cultural competence.
    • Advocate bilingualism and Biliteracy.
    • Foster an environment appreciative of diversity and intolerant of racism.
Name Title Email Address Phone Number
Sonia Salcedo Director ssalcedo@palmdalesd.org
Adriana Aguirre Bilingual Administrative Secretary aaguirre@palmdalesd.org 661.223.3306
Marilem Castro District Translator mscastro@palmdalesd.org 661.789.6714
Lizbet Dunning CBET Community Program Liaison ldunning@palmdalesd.org 661.789.6713
Ivonne Giusto Bilingual Instructional Assistant imgiusto@palmdalesd.org 661.789.6712
Teresita Martinez District Translator tmartinez@palmdalesd.org 661.789.6742

Migrant Education Program

  • What is the Migrant Education Program

  • Who do we serve?

  • Migrant ED Message from the Coordinator

  • Events

  • Health Services and Social Support for Migrant Families

  • Migrant Education Local and Regional Services

  • Summer and Saturday School Services

  • District English Learner Advisory Council